IGNORED

Fuel pump no power

Alex240z

Hello. My name is Alex. 

Just to let you guys know that I’m very new with cars and this is my very first project car so please bear with me.

i have a 1977 Datsun 280z that has no fuel going to the engine. I figured it was the pump itself not working so I had it replaced. However, after that, it continued to not work. I’ve been searching online for some solution however I still can’t seem to figure out what’s the problem. Here are some things I’ve tried.

So my engine doesn’t start and while it cranks there is no volts coming to the fuel pump. I tried to look for my fuel pump relay and most people say it’s under the driver side for a 1977. However, in my case, it’s not in there but in the engine bay right next to the battery. I’ve looked at the relays and they seem okay. I can send photos if you guys request. Another thing I checked out was the afm and it seemed perfectly fine too. I test I read online was to try starting the car and open the afm flap to see if the pump would start but it didn’t so I believe it might have something to do with the relays. 

please any help would be amazing. 

You've left out the connections between some good details.  When did you measure voltage to the pump and where did you measure it?  And how?

When you say "no fuel to the engine" do you mean the fuel filter or the injector rail or the injectors not opening?  Sounds like you're convinced that the fuel pump is not getting power but it's not clear.

The simplest way to check your issue is to disconnect the small yellow wire from the starter solenoid then turn the key to Start.  The fuel pump should run but the engine will not crank.  Usually you can hear the pump run from the driver's seat.  You can do this to measure fuel pressure and flow also.

Also, how long have you had the car?  And when did it last run?  Check your fusible links.  Use a meter and make sure everything has power that should.

Edited by Zed Head