IGNORED

Removed Gauges Successfully

ramsesosirus

I had a set of white face overlays from the z connexion for awhile, but was deterred based on the difficulty of the task.  Well I went ahead and went for it, and got it all done in a few hours without any major troubles.  Sorry the picture quality sucks.  I will do better for an installed picture...

zzzzzzzzzz gauges.jpg

I am waiting on new bulbs to arrive before installing them, and making sure they work.  More on that later....

For anyone contemplating this job, or removing gauges, etc..  Here is what I did and found: (I've never done this type of work before in the dash FYI)

I have a dash cap/cover.  I had to remove it it to get the speedo and tach out.  They come out towards the driver.  Luckily mine wasn't glued down to the dash.  I didn't remove the column plastic cover, but I should have and will need to remove it to re-install the dash cap.  It is a tight fit near the column.

zz dash cap.jpg

You do not need to remove the dash to get at the gauges.  

1.  Look at the FSM.  it has great images, instructions and details of the dash and gauges.  Also my Chilton's had the same image of the dash.

2.  Disconnect battery (always).  

3.  Remove 4 screws on the sides of the HVAC cover plate, disconnect the wire connectors.  I had 2 connectors.

4.  Remove the 2 screws holding the center vent in place, they are also located on the sides.  Remove the ducts from the center vent (If still connected...)  I had 2, one on each side.  (I try to put the screws back where they go for easy recall).

zzz cener.jpg

5.  I had to remove the glove box to get the center vent out of the way.  I could not get the center vent out through the middle opening.  I removed the screws for the latch, the the light, and the glove box "holster".  I didn't remove the actual glove box door.  I supported it so it didn't hang down low freely.  i slid the center vent to the side.

zzz glove box.jpg