IGNORED

Mike's78z

Hi my name is Mike,

I'm an aspiring industrial design student hoping to get into the automotive design world. I'm currently looking for a college in California to get my passion on the road, so to speak. I've already started on a few concepts, but there nothing serious. I also do product design as well, got one design made into production.

My first encounter with a Z, was in the front yard of my girlfriend's house. Ever since then I've fallen in love with Z cars. I've been looking for a Z car of my own, but we'll see how that goes. I really like the 240, 260, and 280z models. The 280zx is nice, but i really don't care much for the design influence in the 80's. The cars were a little too squared and the cheap black plastic they used takes away from the design in my opinion.

Well, I look forward to meeting you all. This seems like the perfect place to get useful information and feedback about the Z. Someday, I hope to create a design worthy of the Datsun Z car name. I've got a few ideas already, but I'd really appreciate your input as well.

Ok...lofty aspirations, but nothing wrong with that...follow that dream...

Keep your eyes and ears open. Tons of Z's in your neck of the woods. Check out Zhome.com which provides an excellent buyer's guide to getting your first Z (it says it clearly, but just to reinforce it...avoid rust at all costs).

Welcome aboard.

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks guys, so far i've obtained a lot of useful information on this forum. I know my aspirations are far fetched, especially with the way the auto industry has been. That's why i'm looking at doing product design at SJSU. Perhaps i'll go back and try auto design once things are going a little better.