IGNORED

Dashboard Preservation?

motorman7

Any recommendations on preserving the dashboards of older Z's? I have recently acquired a 1970 240Z with original dash and no cracks (VIN: HLS30-02614). One part of me wants to put armor-all on it to make it look shiney new. The other side just says wipe it down with water. I am new to this, so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Rich

Edited by motorman7

I've actually been wondering the same thing and have seen some conversation on this before, but can't tell which comments are factual and which are just wivestales or rumors so I'm afraid to do anything. Water sounds like the safest way to go until I hear scientific proof that it's actually possible to restore the natural oils, moisture or whatever to the dash.

Yep, read that. Again no scientific proofs aside from the obvious fact that UV light is harmful to the dash. I think everyone knows that by now. What I'd like to see is a breakdown of the active ingredients used in popular dash care or other products that could be beneficial for dash protection and/or re-conditioning. I realize that some of this information is proprietary and not likely to be revealed by companys releasing products into a very competitive marketplace, but some do reveal a certain amount of what makes their products good, or better than the competition.

There must be people out there (chemists) familiar with the specific attributes of some of these active ingredients used, and how they would relate or interact with plastics, which I believe are based on or comprised of petroleum related products as well. But now we're getting way out mf my confort zone so someone please edumacate me if I'm wrong. :)