IGNORED

Making webpage for resto/paint issues

JimmyZ

Making the page I wish I had before doing any repaint/restoration...

http://warbuddies.homestead.com/RestoHelp.html

I'm sure there are/have been others in the group but this is my two cents. Seems to me it would save people are new to this a lot of time. It would also be easier on those of us helping people to simply refer them the page.

I'm just getting started on the page and should be done in a week or two.

Cheers,

Jim

jimmy z thanks for the info it will help me alot . i have floor pans that are getting some surface rust how should i tackle this i will not be doing the pans for a while was thinking of spraying por 15 than putting them in the basement till i am ready from katcarl1

Do not coat them with POR 15 before you install them. POR 15 is real hard to sand or grind back off. How long are you going to store them? Might want to just use the marine clean and metal ready on them the two steps that pickel the metal prior to coating with POR. for short term. If you are going to store them long term clean them up and paint them with a rattle can enamal paint that is easily sanded off again when you are ready to install them.

If your floor pans have the melt sheet garbage on top of them then it may be more than surface rust. Once the rust starts to spread under the melt sheet it is over for the floor pans. It is pretty easy to fab floor pans as I had to do this on mine. Getting the melt sheet off was accomplised by using a torch to warm it then scraping with... a scraper. Aircraft remover was used to zap any leftover residue.

I have grown a strong dislike for POR-15. a7dz is right, it is hard to sand or sandblast. The stuff comes off in a nice clean sheet when aircraft remover is applied though. If you apply it too thick or have a pool of it it cracks.