IGNORED

Advice on Jumping Tach

Gibby

Hi All,

I am very new to this--both the car and the forum--, but hope to get some help or advice. I have a datsun 280zx which I love to peices, but recently as I am driving I notice the Tach start to jump all over the place right about the time the car starts to get warmed up, then the car starts to run rough, and dies. It's consistently happening if I rev the engine to high as well. But, I never have a problem starting the car. I have replaced the battery, battery cables, coil, fuel filter, spark plugs, spark plug wires, cap and rotor. Any ideas?

Thanks all for any help you can give!!

Gibby

• 4 years later...

Well it sounds like you went the expensive way to eliminate spark as the problem. That leaves compression, fuel and air. My bet would be fuel, check the fuel filter, if you haven't replaced it recently put a new one in, I'd try that first. Then check fuel pressure then clean the injectors. It realy sounds like a car starving for fuel. If the fuel filter is relly bad you might need to clean out corosion in the fuel system to fix the problem

The tach can jump (at least sometimes on some cars) when the cylinders misfire. That can cause premature termination of the spark, such that all the pent-up energy rings at high voltages in the ignition coil. That results in double-triggering of the tach. If you straighten out your running problems, the tach will probably stop jumping.

It sounds like fuel starvation to me too. It could also be a failing fuel pump.

The tach can jump (at least sometimes on some cars) when the cylinders misfire. That can cause premature termination of the spark, such that all the pent-up energy rings at high voltages in the ignition coil. That results in double-triggering of the tach. If you straighten out your running problems, the tach will probably stop jumping.

It sounds like fuel starvation to me too. It could also be a failing fuel pump.