IGNORED

Reliable/powerful L24?

Jayru

Hi guys,

I've been working on cars for almost 10 years now, and have owned/worked on Mustangs, GalantVR4's, 300ZXTT's, but I'm new to the 240Z/ L series engine/carburation, and i have a few questions. I've been doing a lot of searching and haven't found the answers i'm looking for so i thought i'd post my questions.

Can the L24 be a powerful/reliable engine? Every thread i come upon says to use an L28 block, yada, yada. But they don't ever say why. What is the weakness of the L24?

I'm picking up a 72 240Z tomorrow and it has the original L24 in it with double SU's. It runs like crap now and wont barely start (needs a tune up, ect). My original intent was to do a Hybrid-V8, RB motor, ect.

But since the car is original, and swaps wind up costing a lot of money, i'd like to tune the L24 to make some decent reliable power. Is this posible or am i wasting my time?

If i rebuild the SU's and do the Pertrox electronic ignition, can i make some decent reliable power? (200-300 HP range)

Are triple webers a better setup? I have a guy that wants to sell me a triple weber setup (manifold/45mmcarbs) for $300. Is that a good deal?

Sorry for so many questions in one thread. Your help is greatly appreciated. I look forward to posting here and getting to know some of you.

Thanks,

Jay

you came to the right site, my friend! most of us here hold to the L-series engine (at least that's what i come away with). the l-series engine is one of the best engines (i think i'm on 237K right now and running strong as hell!). the reason that i believe most people get the L28 is for increases displacement. also, if you think about it, nissan has come a long way (as have others) over the years. newer technology usually equals better engineering. anyway, from what i have researched, the l24 is a relatively good motor, especially considering your automotive history :P... anyway, there are tons of other folks that can tell ya more! so here they go: