IGNORED

240Z Distributor Questions

rcv

I'm getting close to completion on my first engine rebuild.  I'm trying to set up the timing using the original distributor following Tom Monroe's instructions and I have some questions.  He says:

Rotate the distributor housing all the way to the left, or counterclockwise. If breaker points are used, check point gap. It should be 0.020 in (0.50mm). Rotate the housing to the right -clockwise- until the points just begin to open.

I must be dense because I just don't get what he's trying to tell me. If the the gap is already 0.5mm when the distributor is rotated all the way CCW, then what should it be when it "just begins to open"? More than 0.5mm or less?  This is my first time setting up a distributor so I'm thoroughly confused.  My points are measuring 0.25mm when the unit is rotated all the way CCW so I'm guessing I should adjust that.

Also, I can actually rotate my rotor around 10 degrees without moving the housing (or crankshaft for that matter). Is that expected, or is my distributor shot?  Here's a video of me messing with it: https://youtu.be/8ve-9dZ30k8

To be honest, I'm terrified of melting my engine with incorrect timing so any advice is appreciated.

Edited by rcv

the check points gap thing is an aside. I.e. check the points gap before you try to set the timing. it's a pre-requisite of setting the timing.

to set the points gap, you rotate the distributor until the points are right on top of one of the 6 lobes, the most open point.

• Thanks 1

Thanks, Jon.  So at their most open, the points should be 0.5mm apart?  Once I've got that set, then I should rotate all the way CCW and then CW until the points just barely open?

Also, any thoughts on being able able to rotate my rotor a few degrees by hand without moving the rest of the distributor? Is that normal?

On 5/2/2020 at 10:29 PM, rcv said: