IGNORED

Head bolt tap size

It might very well be that I'm using the search feature wrong, or Tapatalk and my phone are making things difficult.

At any rate, I've picked up my P79 head from the machine shop and am preparing to chase the threads on my block prior to installation.

Can someone advise me on which thread pitch to use in my tap set.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my Coolpad 3310A using Tapatalk

I'm no expert, but I wouldn't chase the threads in the block with a tap unless you really really have to. I wouldn't want to remove any metal, and running a tap in there has the risk of cutting out metal that does not need to be.

I would use carb cleaner and a small round metal wire brush first before you resort to a tap. If, after wire brushing, the head bolt threads in easily all the way to the bottom, then you're good to go and it doesn't need to be chased by anything more aggressive than that.

IMHO.

• Like 2

It's a plan.

You just need the correct brush. And I've found it most effective to stuff the brush all the way in and then rotate it in the direction that unscrews it. That tends to bring the gunk out instead of driving it deeper.

And then at the very end, give it a couple blasts of carb cleaner. Stick the straw down the hole and cover the hole with a rag while blasting And don't get any in your eyes.   :excl:

• Like 1

I ended up using brake parts cleaner, I mistakenly grabbed it instead of my throttle body cleaner, hopefully this wasn't a mistake. At any rate I cleaned the threads with a wire cone brush.

It turned out that most had to be tapped. So I ran the M10 1.50 tap with some oil on it and ended up pulling a slight amount of crud out.

The one thing I'm not too sure about is the fact that some head bolts thread all the way to the end of their threads, and some do not. It doesn't seem right, but perhaps it is, and I just don't know.