IGNORED

280ZX Stalls and Restarts an Hour Later

XoXSciFiGuy

Hi, I'm a newbie from the Seattle area, but definitely a Nissan guy. I own a 1997 D21 XE KingCab with a mere 112,000 miles. It''s like new, has NO issues at all. Wife drives a 1998 Pathy, but she's going for an Xterra soon. 

The problem I have is with my just-purchased1982 ZX. (Two seater, five speed, non turbo) Starts up and runs great, sure. A few blocks later, it just dies cold. Engine cranks, but no start. An hour or so later, it starts right back up and then does the same thing a few blocks later. 

This one is worth fixing up, too. Body straight, no issues with clutch, engine, no smoking or knocking. Only 126K on it, new five speed tranny, and a paid a measly $1,000 for it. It even came with a box of parts...brand new fuel pump in the box, fuel filter, set of wires, plugs, cap and rotor...and I'm putting those in tomorrow. After I do...the engine will start up of course. I will let it run until it dies and then check spark. If spark is good...it almost has to be a fuel problem...and we can eliminate the pump and filter...so if it dies after all that...and spark and air are good...what do you think? Regulator? Fuel damper by the pump? 

I'm pretty sure it's not the pump because even after it dies with the one installed right now...you can still hear normal whirring and shutoff of the pump when you turn the key to ON. 

Any suggestions would be appreciated. My thought is that if it gets good spark AFTER it dies...and still won't start after all those part replacements...could be the fuel regulator maybe?

MileageDisplay.jpg

OpenHoodFull.jpg