IGNORED

Introduction

Hello all,

I just recently picked up a 240z from Texas that I have been eyeing for about 5 years. Not much info on the car, it appears to be a 72' based on the carbs and headlight buckets, but the vin # seems high for that year, 149747. It has the usual rust problems although not that bad. The battery tray just started to rust through. The passenger side floor board is rotted  due to a heater core leak? The driver side looks intact. There isn't a straight panel on the car, but I am looking forward to working on it. 

20180526_163508.jpg

20180527_112052.jpg

20180527_175342.jpg

Does it have a build tag in the drivers side door frame?  It will give you a build date if it's there. Number  149747   would place it somewhere  in February of 1973 I believe. 

It was common on '73's to put the round top carburetors on them to help with vapor lock problems that the 73's had with the emission carbs known as flat tops.  Also I have never heard that there is a difference in the headlight buckets for the 240's or 280's for that matter.

14 minutes ago, jwtaylor said:

Does it have a build tag in the drivers side door frame?  It will give you a build date if it's there. Number  149747   would place it somewhere  in February of 1973 I believe. 

It was common on '73's to put the round top carburetors on them to help with vapor lock problems that the 73's had with the emission carbs known as flat tops.  Also I have never heard that there is a difference in the headlight buckets for the 240's or 280's for that matter.

I read somewhere that the 72' model had fiberglass headlight buckets and 73 and on had metal. It is very possible that the round tops were installed after the fact. The build plate has the number obscured due to the vehicle being painted in the past. 

IMG_1432001002.jpg