IGNORED

Mpg help, only getting 7.5mpg 280z

Z Tyler Z

So after finally making my 76 280z a daily driver I've discovered its getting horrible mpg. After my last fill up I only got 7.5 miles to the gallon. So I figure it's time to start trouble shooting this problem. My car is pretty stock with a 5 speed. Most of my driving is city.

After reading the EFI bible I'm still in need of some guidance.

Some ideas i have are

Leaky cold start injectors? I'm not really sure if this would led to 7.5 mpg though but I'm pretty new to EFI.

Bad AFM? Mine has corrosion on the circuit board on the AFM.

Sticking Air regulator?

Bad coil? Mine is the stock 34 year old one, this going bad could also explain my occasional lack of low rpm power too.

Bcdd sticking? Causes the rpms to stick occasionally, I thinking of just running a positive 12V connection to keep it closed.

A little more info about how my cars drives. It generally doesn't like to idle at the same rpm every time. Sometimes it idles at 1200 other times at 600. Generally more towards 1200, if I mess with the idle screw it will idle very low in the 500 range. When in the 500 range the car is gutless, I can go all the way down on the gas and it takes it's time moving up the rpm range.

Any advice would be much appreciated, I really can't afford to get 7.5 mpg.

Make sure your distributor is functioning as intended.OLug off the CSI and see if anything changes.

Do you see any smoke out the pipe?Another thing to check for is rips or tears in the manifold elbow(s)on both sides of theAFM).

Edited by Z train

How long since you made it a DD? If you only just got it working, it might need a shot of Seafoam run through it, an oil change, the gas-tank drained and cleaned, fuel filter changed and then a full tank run through it before you declare it as a gas-hog.

Other than that, as far as suggestions go:

Take your foot off the brake when driving down the road.

Don't sit in your driveway revving the engine for hours on end.