IGNORED

Tierod removal with HAMMER question

PATZ

Hello all!

I`d like to disconnect my outer tierod from the spindle as part of a procedure to remove my front suspension arm. Thus, i plan on using the tierod again. This is my first time to do this by the way. I`ve read some of the threads on outer tie rod removal using only a hammer to vibrate the tierod end loose from the spindle, i`m aware of the pickle fork and the tierod remover but really would rather go the ULTRA cheap method with a heavy hammer. I read that you dont hit the tierod itself or the tierod arm, that you hit the one the tierods connect to (Spindle/steering knuckle). Now to my question, does it matter wether i hit the spindle from above or below(of course i can hammer harder from above)? Oh, any chance of distorting the steering knuckle and thus possibly causing an alignment adjustment problem? Thanks!

Edited by PATZ
added something

Here in the States you can rent/borrow a pickle fork set from most auto parts stores (NAPA, Schucks, AutoZone, Kragen). Is there any place by you where you might be able to borrow a set?

I just got a loaner kit for changing the ball joints on my Ford Exploder and it really helped.

The hammer method involves hitting the steering arm, not the tie rod.

The tie rod spindle is in a tapered hole. The idea is that whacking the steering arm pops the tie rod out. I've been told to have a drift (another hammer will do) on the opposite side (to absorb the impact)

Here's some ascii art to try and illustrate the method

[hammer] whack ->(o)[drift]

where (o) is the steering arm, looking straight down ontop of it.

Didn't work for me so I bought a tie rod separator. They aren't too expensive.