IGNORED

How 'bout this for a race setup?

sopwith21

Greetings. A newbie here.

Got a '74 260z that races on a 2-mile road course. Average speeds are around 75 mph. Slows to 35 and tops out at 120 or so.

The suspension was stock and I'm upgrading all four corners to Pro Shock coil over kits with Tokico adjustable struts, Pro Shock springs (350 fr/250 rear) and ArizonaZcar monoball camber plates all around. I know we can debate specific spring rates and strut brands all day, but won't this get me in the ball park and build enough adjustability into the suspension to have a decent base to work from? Right now it handles like a dog. Many thanks.

Stephen, There are as you know many things to address while setting up suspension for competition. One item you may want to investigate and do is to replace all your old rubber bushings with polyurethane. You will be quite surprised with this improvement. Also, what about your tire/wheel setup...another biggy! Brakes, coilovers, tubular adjustable transverse links, etc., etc., the list goes on and on. But depending on what class you run, rules will dictate what you can and can't do.....check them first. Anyway, hope this helps some and wecome to ONE GREAT Z SITE.

What do you mean it handles like a dog? What is it doing or not doing? Be as specific as possible.

What's your alignment settings like? What tires? Their age? Tire pressures? LSD? What about sway bars? Are the tokicos blown? I'm not sure Tokicos can handle 250# springs very well. Most setups use the stiffer springs in the rear as well. I never tried it so I don't know how well it works in reverse.

Has it got a tied in roll cage? Makes a hell of a difference, the stock 240 body is very flexy so diverting suspension settings and loads. 350f/250r sounds a very peculiar spring setup, they should be much closer tending to a bit more on the rear than front, but debatable :) Dump the Tokico's, Koni's or Bilstein's minimum.