IGNORED

The Z Compared To A British Classic

rossiz

i've been restoring my z out in front of my house for the past 6 months, and i've met a ton of people during that time. they just stop chat about how they had one in high school, or how they dated someone who had one, or how they always wanted one... one neighbor up the street mentioned he had a '67 e-type jag, and while i had my car up on jacks fiddling w/suspension, he came by for a visit. with the green paint, tan interior, "wood" steering wheel, 240 bumper, headlight covers and wire wheels, the z really held it's own in the presence of a $90K brit classic :cool:

it was a hoot to see the two cars together!

there were so many styling cues that were similar - i had never seen the z in that light. don't get me wrong: i have no delusions of grandeur thinking my little $6,500 japanese DD is in the same league as that uber-classic, but i get to drive the snot out of my car every day and his only comes out 5-6 times a year on "special occasions" - i'll take the z any day :classic:

post-30163-14150828776032_thumb.jpg

post-30163-14150828775377_thumb.jpg

post-30163-14150828776781_thumb.jpg

In 1970, one could buy an almost new XKE for about the price of a brand new Z. I passed on the XKE because I was about to move out of the country For a while. When I returned in 1971, I bought the Z I still own. Not sure I would have held onto a Jag for 43 years - or could have afforded to keep one that long.

Dennis

I'm glad you've come to love your wire wheels. IMO they look great on a Z! The design of the Z was certainly influenced by the designs of other lovely 60's era machines, including the E-type, the Ferrari 250GTO, and the Toyota GT2000.