IGNORED

valve-rocker gap adjust tips

korg_geek

Hi gang,

I just drove the Z 2000 miles in two days under a fairly heavy load (try about 700 pounds of baggage) and it performed excellently, I'm proud to say. Only problem is, I have a slight clanking from my engine when it runs now. I'm assuming its my valve clearances since that's what it sounds like. Does anyone have any good tips as to how to adjust the distances the easiest? Like most things, I know most people have their own little trick; I've never done this before, so I'm looking for some good information.

Thanks a lot!

I always use a socket wrench on the crank and set the engine to top dead center -- including the cam to top dead center. Then I adjust the intake and exhaust for number one. Then I turn the engine using the socket until the valves for number two are both closed -- then adjust them. Keep doing this all the way back.

I like Rick always use a socket wrench on the crank and set the engine to top dead center -- including the cam to top dead center. Then I adjust the intake and exhaust for number one.

However, I differ from here by following the sequence of the firing order. 153624 adjusting them as I go.

You can't get away from using the feeler gauge and be careful of the knuckles when you untighten the bolts. A little bit of slippage and whack - the head edges are like razor blades.

also check them after you tighten them as they have a habit of moving when you lock them down.

How can you tell the clearance is dead on even with feeler gauge? I adjusted my valves with a tad of resistance pushing in the gauge. Someone indicated that looser is better to ensure oil can get in there to lubricate the cam lobes. However, having too much clearance will cause valves not to seat properly when closed and lose compression, no?

-Guycali

Originally posted by Guycali

How can you tell the clearance is dead on even with feeler gauge?