IGNORED

No Spark issue. Negative voltage on ignition switch.

280zdude

Hello everyone I had a question about voltage. I am a newbie when it comes to wiring and electrical but I did my research and read the forums. 

I have a 1977 280z and it looks like someone’s been in there trying to figure out the issue. Missing bolts etc. anyways with my multimeter I tested the coil and the resistor and voltage. 

the voltage was off.. well there was none with the key on the on position, testing on the first terminal on the resistor. so this is what I checked, I went to the battery and checked the cables those are good, car turns over. I looked at the wiring diagram and found the black and white wire that leads to the ignition relay. That wire read at -12.45 volts. As if I I had my wires crossed on my volt meter. Then I searched and found the red and white wire that leads to the battery. And again same thing that wire read -12.45.. I went back to the battery terminals and tested there and that was +12.45. Sooo my question is why is it reading as negative in the wires? Is this normal? Andy ideas as to why the black and white wire that goes to the resistor is getting no power.. 

The only thing that comes up is your car has the Plus on the chassis.. the battery cables are on the wrong pole? they are different diameters so the cables are on the wrong spot.

Does the Plus go to your chassis? and the minus go's to the starter? 

The ground should be minus and the big plus lead should go to the starter! Pictures show more than words! I would like to see whats the case ..

14 hours ago, 280zdude said:

I went to the battery and checked the cables those are good, car turns over. 

I looked at the wiring diagram and found the black and white wire that leads to the ignition relay. That wire read at -12.45 volts. As if I I had my wires crossed on my volt meter.