IGNORED

Fuse ratings for fusible link replacements

dmorales-bello

I was committed to updating the information pertaining the amp rating for the Maxifuses I used in the fuse block that replaced the fusible links but I'm embarrassed to admit I can't locate that post. Moderator's help in properly placing this update will be appreciated.

Anyhow, here's the update. I have been running this set-up (pics below) for a couple of months without issues. The consensus was to decrease the amp rating of the fuses used as much as was logically possible to test how well they protected each circuit. I've made a point of driving with as much electrical draw as possible with the AC, headlights, sound system, turn signals when necessary, hazard lights and horn when possible. The only system I haven't used simultaneously is the windshield wipers/washer because I don't take the car out in the rain. 

The circuits have been identified on the decal on the inside of the case cover.

Despite the information on the Atlantic Z page regarding amp ratings for the different color fusible links, my current  (no pun intended) set-up is much lower and, as stated previously, seems to be working well. 

Circuit 1 (ACC): 50 amps,  Circuit 2 (IGN): 30 amps,  Circuit 3 (H.L.) 25 amps,  Circuit 4 (IGN) 20 amps

20200127_191259.jpg20200127_191224.jpg20200127_191410.jpg

• Like 2

looks really clean, can you share more pictures of how it looks in the engine bay?
Sure! Here's a couple more. I placed the fuse block inside a watertight acrylic case at the same position in the engine bay where the fusible links were located. I posted a little write up on it a couple of months ago. fce686bd1e43640e813d2abf5b2182e8.jpg422b5c9a83712ab4ecd394724033d059.jpg

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

• Like 2

looks really clean, can you share more pictures of how it looks in the engine bay?