IGNORED

paint both sides of a part at the same time

qz16

Truth be told I am painting my second complete car.  So I am just a novice.  The first was an mgb.  This one is a 73 240z.  When I painted the “B” I removed the doors, hood and trunk lid.  The first problem was how to paint both sides of something using a 2 stage paint system.  I purchased a few paint stands (scissor type) and they are a necessity if you are going to do any paint or body work.  After struggling with the stands and painting one side at a time I finally broke down and bought a simple rolling rack.  Mine isn’t very expensive (about $90).  It is terrific for painting small light parts both sides at once.  I never figured out a good way to suspend heavy awkward items like doors.  I tried the obvious stuff: hooks through holes … ect. but a door doesn’t hang well unless it is suspended from the right spots and at the right height for painting.  It is also preferable to have the part hanging in the same way that it will be mounted on the car.  I looked online for tips on how best to hang parts for painting both sides but never found anything particularly insightful.