IGNORED

Bill's EFI Drama AKA A Game of Name that Component!

mentalite

Sounds like fun doesn't it?  The winner receives a free glass of water at their favorite restaurant!

I started through the process of tracking down my fuel pump and richness condition by going through the wiring harness and checking all of the connections.  Man, is this sage advice from ZedHead and others!  I found corrosion in many places (still not done), the worst on the thermostat or coolant sensor housing connections.  Of course since I am a complete rookie this leads to the inevitable list of questions.

I started at what seems like the most logical place - the ECU.  I started here to follow the harness to it's many terminations.  Stumble #1 was an almost immediate link to a box just above the ECU which I believe is the fuel injection relay.  Should I pull the plug on this and check for corrosion?

The harness runs through the firewall and goes into this guy just below the power brake booster.  Dropping resistor?  Same question...check the harness here?  Quite tricky to get to.

IMG_20161231_174007877.jpg

Moving down the line I come to a nest of these types of connectors which are quite difficult to pull apart.  I'm trying to be careful and not break any of these.  Any advice on the correct method?

IMG_20161231_174021749_HDR.jpg

I am having difficulty with these style connectors.  I am able to do a half assed job using emory paper and a tiny flat blade screwdriver, but advice on a better way will be greatly appreciated.  The largest trouble is broken connectors.  I've found two broken ones and broke one myself.  So first, what's the correct removal method so my ham fisted self doesn't break any more, and second are replacements available?

IMG_20161231_174359010.jpg

Not related to my task at hand, but I came across this dude.  Is this the dash pot?  Should there be a vacuum line attached here?  I can find no loose hose or apparent corresponding naked nipple.