IGNORED

Beginner's Guide to DCOE Webers (WIP)

Disclaimer: I am by NO means a Weber Pro and this post is still a WIP (Work in Progress)

Hello, my name is Mike and I've recently tackled my first set of Triple DCOE Webers project. Now, I spent hours reading all the manuals and following a few guides online, but none of them were particularly methodical in their approach and often just led to more confusion. I'm putting this guide together to, hopefully, help others who might not have much experience with these carbs or for those who (like me) prefer a Step-by-Step approach to figuring things out.

This guide has been made possible with the help of those more knowledgeable than me. Thanks guys - you know who you are! If there's anything I need to clarify or add, let me know.

Table of Contents

I. Documentation

II. Useful Links/Parts/Accessories

III. Prologue

IV. Choke/Venturi

V. Main Jets, Emulsion Tubes, Air Correctors & Idle Jets

VI. TBD

I. Documentation

DCOE Weber Carburetor Top-View Layout

bifr6Ao.gif

Weber Factory Tuning Manual - Download Link

Power Tuning Webers (Des Hammil/Veloce Publishing) - Download Link

Selection and Tuning of DCOE Weber Carbs (David Andrews ) - Download Link

Weber DCOE Tuning Manual (Philippe Boursin) - Download Link

II. Useful Links/Parts/Accessories

http://www.redlineweber.com/

http://www.piercemanifolds.com/

http://www.carburetion.com/index.htm

III. Prologue - The First Date

First and foremost, it is essential that you know what you're working with. Setup a date with your newly acquired friends and spend a romantic evening just getting to know each other - perhaps light some candles and pour some wine while you're at it. In order to tune them properly, you need to know what sort of equipment your carbs are packing. 

IV. Choke/Venturi - Step One - Removal

Let's start off by determining the size of the chokes/venturis. (If carbs don't have filters on them, skip to Step 1D