IGNORED

'72 240Z with much rust...

acceler8

Hi all. I am new to the Z community, as I have just purchased a 1972 240Z that is quite the basket case. It is all original, but has much rust, and a blown head gasket. At least I got a good deal... $300 for the whole thing, and it would still run, and even idle!!! I have the head off now, and am getting it machined smooth. I plan on just getting it running for now, and then tweaking it later. I can't wait to learn how to tune and set the round top SU carbs!!!

Here is a question. What type of welder should I get? I would like one that is 110V, if it could handle body welding, and perhaps some frame welding... 208/230V would be ok if that is what it takes. I have not welded in 10 years, and then it was only arc welding. Should I look at a MIG?

• 1 month later...

Does the car that you're working on have rust on the frame..? If so be very careful..Its been my expereince that rusted frame rails, floor boards.etc in an older Z is usually trouble..With its unibody construction.you don't want to tkae a chance on a weak point that could stress the frame under duress...

Well, I have a new Z car with very little rust except for the passenger side frame rail. It is a '71 240Z, and is very cool. I am concerned about my repairs to the frame rail, but I plan on testing it completely prior to driving on the street:-)

• 6 months later...

Acceler8,