IGNORED

a little carb help please

lady24d

Ok so I finally got working on my 73' 240. When I picked this car up the exhaust manifold, intake and carbs were off the car. After noticing that the previous owner snapped a stud off going to the exhaust manifold, I drilled that out and put a new stud in there, finally got everything that come with the car together and tired to fired it up no fuel. I found that the mechanical pump was not working so I had a spare 5-7 psi electric pump handy and hooked that up and bam fired up and then out of know where the throttle was stuck wide open. I quickly shut it down and then omg a fire!!! I have never ran so fast in my life to get the fire out. So I may have jumped the gun (nooby move I know) everything is fine thank god!! Anyway I am very new to the su carbs and have no idea what I am dealing with here. I am reading a lot and I am mechanically inclined I just have not dealt with carbs before. So if you guys could look at this photo and let me know what carbs I have and if everything looks somewhat complete that would be great. Sorry for being such a novice but everyone learns at some point. :) I'm just glad the fire was small cause I do not want that to happen ever again. Also it seemed like it was getting way to much fuel cause I am getting fuel coming out of the breather hose on the carb which is what caught on fire.

240zcarbs.jpg

You have to make sure the needle valves in the fuel bowls are functioning.

You also have to make sure the return line to the tank from the fuel rail is connected.

The stock fuel pressure is ~ 3.5 to4.5psi so if your pump is putting out 7psi, it may overwhelm the old needles...especially if the return line is blocked off.

Did you see fuel squirting before the fire?

Try disconnecting the low voltage to the coil/ballast (to stop spark) and crank the car and watch for fuel leaks.