IGNORED

drying compressed air

Patcon

I have a 60 gal Ingersol Rand 5 hp compressor, when it runs a lot I have some serious water in the lines. I have a Jet coalescing filter in the main line (3/4") about 20' from the air compressor. I am looking into solutions to dry the whole system and to dry the air specifically for painting one of my cars that is coming back from the media blaster. I could use any help or suggestions for what others have done and the results. It can be very humid here in the south and with high temperatures making dry air can be a challenge.

Thanks, Charles

I am no expert. But I did drive by a holiday inn express 20 yrs ago on my way to a super 8.

The best thing to have is a air dryer mounted away from the compressor allowing the air to cool a little before going through the dryer. One place I worked for had it placed right at the compressor and we still got a little bit of water, but not near as much when the dryer broke down.

My current job doesn't like to spend money and had an auxiliary tank to take care of the machines and then a direct line to the hand tools and blow off lines. It did have one water catch, but had to empty it on the hour every hour. I didn't want to climb up a 12' ladder every time I wanted to drain the water so I reconfigured the supply lines. I plumbed(air hose) to the auxiliary tank directly from the compressor. Then fed everything from the auxiliary to feed the machinery and every thing else. The auxiliary tank basically work as the air dryer condensing the water at the bottom of the tank. Not the right way to it by any means, but I had to work with what I had on the very cheap. There was still water, but it didn't gat past the water trap like it did before. Now I only drain the water once a week at the trap. The compressor and auxiliary tanks get drained every other day. BTW all the lines in the shop were plastic.