IGNORED

Electrical odyssey about to begin!

northernz

After just driving my Zed for a year and cataloguing needed repairs, a jammed hood release cable has catapulted me into a whole series of repairs!

The electrical gremlins to be excorcised are: Intermittent dash lights; short on the dome light circuit ; inop horns ; inop washer motor ; and bizarre ammeter flucuations! There is evidence that P/O had installed driving lights and removed them, as well as other curious wires to nowhere.

I have no electrical experience, just a desire to get things working! Any advice or tips are appreciated! I guess my first step is to buy an ohmmeter or multimeter, then figure out how to use it!

Wish me luck!

Make sure you take detailed notes, and get a copy of the various wiring diagrams floating around. Your multimeter will be invaluable. Get a good one. Also be prepared to do a lot of cleaning. Sometimes problems that may seem big are just contamination on a terminal. Clean every terminal you touch.

Suggestion #1 - Learn how to read current with a meter. Always start with the highest scale on your meter and work your way down. Otherwise, you'll at least blow the fuse if not the circuit board. If you don't want to break circuits to put in an ammeter (or multimeter with an ammeter function), consider a clamp-on ammeter (higher cost meter). I have used one for work since I'm measuring 40A DC circuits at times and most meters only go up to 10 Amps. I have also used it on a friend's car to diagnose circuits that might be draining the battery. Clamp-on meters help you work faster on circuits since you don't have to disconnect anything, but you give up some on accuracy. Be aware that most clamp-on meters measure AC only, so don't buy one of those expecting it to work on your car's DC circuits.