IGNORED

New life for a 240z

I got my 72' 240z in Mar09 and now shares the garage with my wifes 06' Chevy HHR. My 01' GMC Sierra is a little ticked since it got ousted out of the garage due to the Z's weatherstripping around the doors & hatch are virtually gone (don't need anymore rust than what its got already). The Z sat outside for more than 10 yrs with minor work done (hood & 1 door) and hasn't ran since. I have completed some of the many rust repairs, driver side floor pan, hatch latch area and now getting ready to repair the front lower rear quarter panel, both sides. I've never done body work/fabrication before so this will be very educational. I just brought the engine to life a couple of weeks ago, first fogging the cylinders, changing fuel lines, filter, etc and with alot of patience and with help of starting fluid, it started. Now its on to other areas that I have come across to work on besides finishing up the body work. I know that I will need help and ideas from those of you that have way more knowledge than I have.

A little about me, my name is John. My wife & I live in Spokane Valley, WA, born and raised here. By trade I'm a welder and have some fabrication, gas welding and a ton of brazing experience. I have wanted to do a project car and have always liked the "Z" car ever since it came out to the market.

Now I own one and will have the pleasure of giving this 240z new life.

Congratulations! Welcome to the site. It is a fountain of information and its great to hear stories like yours. I am sure I speak for everyone when I say "POST PICTURES!!!!" It never matters what they look like, everyone wants to see. :) Good luck with the car.

carl

Hi John: