IGNORED

'71 240Z - Windshield Wipers

RolfSis

Novice here, working with my brother's '71 240Z to put out to bid and sell.

Question: When taking out the seat, to fix, found a fuse. Also then found the fuse box, everything "looks" fine. Went driving last week, was smooth, and drive was GREAT stuff worked, drove again this week and the windshield wipers aren't responding.

? Could it be a fuse, and if so, should I take them all out and can you test them?

? Since we're planning to sell at current price or best offer ($4100), does it make sense to sink $s into investigating this and raising the price to sell?

? Or could it be something else I should do to make the wipers work?

Thanks tons!

Hiya, I moved the thread for you and deleted a few messages to make sure your topic stays going.. :)

Anyway, your troubles are "most likely" electrical. First of all, I'd replace ALL of the fuses in the fusebox. Making sure you find the right AMP ratings for all of them, replace every single one. Next, open up the cowl panel and find the wiper motor wires. Check for voltage using a meter when the switch is turned. If you have power, then your problem is due to a faulty motor. If you do NOT have power, then your problem may be due to a bad switch. I've seen these switches get dirty in the past and it might be a good idea to pull it out to clean some of the contacts.

Anyway, just a few ideas for ya to get started.

Fantastic, Mike, thank you tons and tons! You've given me excellent advice and when my husband returns from work, he'll help me further on checking out your helpful recommendations; especially the part on voltage meter readings.

I found the fusebox and that looks very helpful, I see names on the cover of each. Not sure how to find the AMP ratings, unless they're written on those tiny little fuses themselves, which I'll see soon. You clearly know what you're talking about; but me not so much ... ":0( ...