IGNORED

280Z Running Rich-- How to Fix?

brandon

Hello all.

I'm a newbie to the Z world-- just bought a very nice 76 280Z:

http://devnulled.com/gallery/280Z-calitocolorado

I've worked on / modified DSM's for around 5 years, and can do about anything on them without a problem except rebuild engines, trannies, etc by hand, but decided it was time for something new. :)

Anyhow, on the drive home, I noticed it was running very rich. I had an emissions test done today, and they also confirmed that it was rich.

Being that it's fuel injection, I'm not quite sure where to start. I would assume that perhaps the spark is not strong enough? I have some new Taylor wires and NGK plugs to throw on this weekend, so that's a start. Any other suggestions on how to get the car running at stoich?

Also-- what is the torque spec and gap for the spark plugs? I'll order the CD Manual soon so I won't have to ask dumb questions like those last two soon. ;)

Thanks,

- Brandon

I should mention that switching to carbs is not an option for me. ;) I love fuel injection.

Also, the fuel system in the car was totally replaced within the last couple of years.. all new injectors, hoses, etc.

• 4 weeks later...

I have a '75, and some similar questions to yours. I am thinking that the "cold start" injector may be the culprit in my case. I am not sure though. Anyone know if it will cause any problems if I disconnect the cold start injector (leave it in place, but remove its electrical connection)?

You "should" be able to run the engine sans cold-start injector, but it should not start up and run well until it's warmed up. That's what the cold-start injector does- extra fuel to start or run when cold. It's controlled by the thermotime sensor/switch.

Maybe you could try starting the engine, then disconnect the cold-start injector? Make sure it's not stuck upen first!