IGNORED

What to do...

zep

I have the chance to buy a 240z here in New Zealand which is finally within my budget. Yay!

The thing is, the man who has it now, compleatly dismanteled the entire car to a state in which it is a chassis sitting on the ground of his garage with no glass, doors bonnet on it at all. He has every bit for it, and all the bolts and stuff and in numbered bags with the number assignment typed up on the computer.

What I need to know, is how hard would it be to put this car back together, its in pretty good nick, and so if it's not too hard, i'd like to give it a go. Needs new shocks and brake bits, but apart from that, it's all good.

I am no a mechanic nor do I have all that much mechanical experience apart from panels and stuff. I know that I'd need someone to wire everything back up and get the brake lines and stuff going, but apart from that, what do you guys think, worth the effort?

thanks heaps

zep

If he has done a good job marking out all the parts and nuts and bolts, it shouldn't be too hard to finish it off. Of course, you're gonna need a good set of basic hand tools to do the job.

One good thing about it, you won't find any hidden rust issues with the car since it's in already torn apart and everything can be seen. And since it's already dismantled, painting it will be a breeze...

One caution however, if it looks as if he hasn't done a good job keeping track of all the little stuff you ight want to think about it. Missing pieces that have to be replaced can add up to big bucks when you are trying to do the final assembly.

If you do decide to tackle this project, you will know the car inside and out and all it's peculiarities. By the time you finish you will also have a fair bit of mechanical experience under your belt as well.