IGNORED

Separating the Throw Out Bearing from the Collar

SteveJ

As I'm a complete novice to most of the transmission topics, this was a neat learning opportunity for me. I needed to separate the TO bearing and collar for installation of the new transmission. After consulting with a couple of friends, I decided to try the Maddox Ball Joint Service Kit I bought from HF. I found it had the right size collar for the TO bearing, and then I found a 27mm socket would drive out the collar.

Here's the assembly ready for pressing.

image.jpeg

It worked for the most part, but the bottom plate kept the assembly from driving the collar all of the way out.

image.jpeg

I could try using my vice to finish the job, or I could get medieval.

image.jpeg

It worked.

image.jpeg

• Like 3

9 minutes ago, SteveJ said:

As I'm a complete novice to most of the transmission topics, this was a neat learning opportunity for me. I needed to separate the TO bearing and collar for installation of the new transmission. After consulting with a couple of friends, I decided to try the Maddox Ball Joint Service Kit I bought from HF. I found it had the right size collar for the TO bearing, and then I found a 27mm socket would drive out the collar.

Here's the assembly ready for pressing.

image.jpeg

It worked for the most part, but the bottom plate kept the assembly from driving the collar all of the way out.

image.jpeg

I could try using my vice to finish the job, or I could get medieval.

image.jpeg

It worked.

image.jpeg

A tip: Use a block of wood (I prefer a hardwood like oak) to support the part rather than placing it on the concrete. It will protect the concrete from chipping, and, more importantly, protect the part from damage by the concrete.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, siteunseen said:

I put a new one on my 280 using the old one to drive it down on the collar. It has a noise.

I had one pressed on the 240's collar. Crickets...