IGNORED

Prothane or Hyperflex

Seppi72

Every time someone starts a topic on modifying their suspension, there always seems to be a difference of opinion regarding whether they should use polyurethane or rubber bushings.  I don't want that discussion here.  My interest is whether anyone knows of the technical differences between Prothane and Hyperflex bushings.  Prothane is manufactured by Dee Engineering of Ontario, CA and Hyperflex by Energy Suspension of San Clemente, CA.

I'll mention that I'm a retired research chemist who worked with polyurethane materials for a good portion of my career.  I know the materials that can be used to make these items -- and there are many -- and how each one affects the final product's mechanical and aging properties.  The primary properties affecting bushing performance include durometer as well as modulus and hysteresis.

What prompts me to ask the question, however, is that, no matter where I look, Prothane parts are predominantly, but not always, a little bit less expensive than the same Hyperflex parts.  I wonder if this is just marketing or whether it has something to do with the materials of construction.

I know I can ask the two manufacturers such questions directly but I would never expect them to give me detailed, factual answers.  So I turn to you, my fellow Z-heads.

• Does anyone have knowledge about material differences between the two product lines?

I suspect the specifications you seek would only be available through two sources...

1) The manufacturer(s). And I agree that it would be unlikely they would be willing to share that level of detail. and...

2) Someone who has purchased both and had them analyzed to determine the detailed specs.

Maybe you'll find someone who has already done that analysis and is willing to share, but I think it's a long shot. Good luck with the venture.   :beer:

Have you considered using rubber bushings instead?   :ph34r:

• Agree 1
  • Haha 1