IGNORED

fuel pressure regulator location

kully 560

I pick up a holley fuel pressure regulator 12-804 and was wondering where to install it, is it better on the supply line or the return line for 4 bolt su carbs. I installed it originally on the supply line but have been reading it might be better on the return line as it might help in cooling the fuel , does it really matter ? thanks

Edited by kully 560
  • Thanks 1

I'm no regulator expert, but I think you need to determine if your regulator is designed for bypass configuration or dead-head configuration. That will tell you which way you need to plumb it.

If it's dead-head, you need to put it in the supply line and (probably) cap off the original return line.

If it's bypass, you need to put it in the return line in place of the stock restriction orifice.

You have not provided enough information to give you an accurate answer.

1. Why are you considering installing the Holley FPR?
  2. What fuel pump are you running?
  3. Will you be installing a fuel pressure gauge to set the FPR properly?
  4. Are you still using the stock fuel rail? It regulates the pressure with a fixed orifice.

When I used a Holley fuel pump and FPR, I deleted the stock fuel rail and ran braided line to the carburetors. The order of the system was tank to filter to fuel pump to FPR. From the FPR one line went to the carburetors, and one line went to the return line back to the tank.

I fabricated a custom heat shield to block the heat from the headers and ran the fuel lines closer to the carburetors as opposed to the stock fuel rail running near the valve cover. This made it where I didn't need to worry about heat soak.

25 minutes ago, kully 560 said:

I did not know the early 260z had a restriction orifice ? do you know where it is located?

The restriction orifice is a necked down small-ish hole on the end of the return side of the fuel rail.

Where the return side connects to the rubber hose above the fuel pump:
orifice location.jpg