IGNORED

Removing Door Panels

texasz

I use a stiff putty knife inserted carefully between the panel and the door to pry the panel away from the door. Start at one end and work your way around the panel. Use only enough force to pop the clips out of the receiver cups that are mounted into the door. Don't rush, and be careful and you should be OK if the panels are not already busted up from previous owner attempts to remove them.

I have to fix my drivers side door handle. Doesn't always catch when closing. I assume I am going to have to remove the door panel. What is this special door panel tool you guys are refering too (I know, I know, stuipd question) :stupid: but I am fairly new to this project car thing.

Thanks

Originally posted by jpac

I have to fix my drivers side door handle. Doesn't always catch when closing. I assume I am going to have to remove the door panel.

If the door doesn't latch properly it's more likely the striker plate on the door jamb that needs to be adjusted; not anything inside the door.

MikeW is right. Unless you have a problem with the lock mechanism INSIDE the door, there's little to be gained from opening the door up.

The only reason to jimmy with the internal mechanism is if the circcular cam doesn't rotate easily, the door handles inside or out or the door lock rod are having problems.

More than likely your door hinges are starting to wear and the door is starting to ride a bit lower, hence hitting the catch on the door sill. You can adjust the catch mechanism up & down as well as in & out to adjust for this, but eventually you may want to have the pins in the hinges replaced.

As far as what the tool looks like, think of a two tined fork, that has been flattened out and a V in between the tines instead of straight. (Sort of like a Dandelion Weed Puller) The tool surrounds the clip / insert with a flat section that then allows you to exert force on the surrounding material of the door panel.

FWIW