IGNORED

Fuel or Exhaust issue - not sure

bhermes

OK, a couple notes up front. My 76 is running pretty well. Starts great and seems to have decent power. I have a couple issues I would like to get a little direction on. I am new to the mechanic and restoration world but learning quickly. I have redone brakes completely (most if not all parts), upgraded to the 60 amp alternator and rewired for the internal voltage regulation, added horns and wired, added side marker lights that were missing, replaced internal door hardware, added new radio to name a few. All of these things I would not have been able to do without this forum / site. So thanks to all.

Ok to the issues at hand.

- I smell either a gas or exhaust smell primarily at high speeds (70-80 mph) during acceleration. I am leaning toward an exhaust leak but not sure and I am cocnerned maybe I should be running something different when it comes to the gas I use.

- At higher speeds (again 70-80 mph) when I let off the gas I get a pretty good kick back. I am sure there is a better term. Car runs good even at 90-100 mph as long as I am on the gas. Not bad otherwise but just want to get this thing compeltely dialed in.

- When coming to a stop and out of gear, the rpms will go to about 2000 until the car is almost stopped. If I leave in gear until the last second I can all but avoid the problem but still would like to get this resolved. Idles around 900-1000 rpms.

I know that this is alot for one post but just in case these items are related in some way.

Have a not-too-bright co-worker stuff a rag in the exhaust while idling on the rack/hoist and see if you can locate an exhaust leak.

Hint: He can hold it there longer wearing an asbestos or "oven mitt."

I'd be looking at a failed or misbehaving Throttle Position Sensor (or wiring) as possible cause of your high idle AND "kickback."