IGNORED

front carpet question

Zedyone_kenobi

My front carpet is in really good shape. I have no complaints save one. While the carpets are in dandy condition, with the sound deadening foamy stuff glued to the bottom of the carpet, they are not attached to my floorboard. Is the sound deadening foam suppose to be glued to the floor? If so, is there a recommended way to do this?

I have thought of spray adhesive as the obvious choice, but that could get messy.

then I thought of using super strong velcro strips. Less messy, but may be noisy. But it would allow me to periodically clean underneath the carpet and check the floorpan on the inside.

Curious as to what others have done.

I'm not an expert on acoustics, but I kinda figured sound deadening needed to be in solid contact with the surface transmitting the vibrations (the body of the car) to be effective.

Is the padding on the underside of the carpet intended for insulation/sound deadening? I always figured it was just padding, like the carpet padding underneath the carpet in your house.

It just depends on the degree of originality you want to maintain in your car. In early cars, the natural fibre jute was not glued down anywhere in the car and carpet just lay on top, also not glued. Very early cars used velco on carpets to hold footwell carpet, and rear deck carpet in place. Later series 1 cars had brackets just in front of the seats which the carpet looped over through serge bound holes.