IGNORED

Intake/Exhaust manifold

JohnnyP

So I'm new to this world of restoration.. This is my first car.. I'm in the process of removing the intake manifold on my '76 280z and I'm a little stuck. I've removed the intake manifold bolts holding it to the head, I don't know where to go from here. I have removed everything that looks like it would be in the way but the thing won't budge..

I guess my question is how do I pull the intake manifold?

My Haynes manual is in the mail.. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

I have a 240Z so it may be different but I removed all bolts from intake and exhaust. After that I took a block of 2x4 and put it against the exhaust manifold and gave it a good shot with a 3 pound sledge. It was just enough to loosen the gasket enough to "peel" it off the rest of the way.

Hope that helps.

John

The bolts on top are not the only ones. There are nuts all across the bottom of the intake that are "Shared" nuts. They hold the bottm of the intake and the top of the exhaust. You need to loosen all of them before the weight of the intake will pull the intake away from the head. DON'T USE A HAMMER!!!

In the picture below (not a great one for the discussion) you'll see three top bolts, 3 middle nuts on studs and 3 bottom nuts on studs. The middle ones are the "Shared" nuts that need to be loosend, all the way across.

Dave

post-4921-14150808526832_thumb.jpg

In order to reach those middle nuts do I have to remove the heat shield underneath the intake? And where are those bolts at? I have felt around underneath and have located a few but may have missed - or not be knowledgable - to the others

Thanks for the the help this far, everyone has been a great help!

-Johnny

Some are in blind spots, you just have to feel around.You need to reach under the exhaust manifold to get to them. The heat sheild is typically mounted to the intake.