IGNORED

Paint stripping question

mally002

Hey guys,

I plan on spending the Fall stripping all the old paint off a 1973 240 and have a really stupid question. Once I take off the paint will the car begin to rust on the surface? I figure this will be a several week project on the weekends and wasn't sure if what I'm planning to do is the right way to go about it.

I have never done this before, but it seems I remember someone saying once a car is stripped it needs to be primed ASAP.

What is the correct way to do this. I just want to get all the old paint off and see what areas need to be repaired, but don't want to paint the car right away.

Thanks for any help

I had my car stripped to bare metal for about a year in my garage and didn't have anything more than the most minor surface rust which you could barely see, although it really showed up more in pictures. It stayed like that through 2 Seattle winters in an unheated garage, well except for the propane heater I used when I went out there.

If you don't want it to rust, you can use a converter like PickleX or I think POR15's Metal Prep is basically the same stuff. It's phosphoric acid, but much more diluted than Ospho or similar products, so you can wipe it on and not have to rinse it off to keep it from eating the metal. I towed my car while it was stripped to bare metal too. When I did that I WD40'd the entire exposed surface. If you do that too you will end up using quite a few cans of brake cleaner getting all the oil off when you go to paint though...

I stripped my car down to bare metal last summer. I used a few different ways - paint stripper, sanding, nylon wheels...