IGNORED

scrap law,s... HELP!

silvia

hi im a newbie, however i have always loved jap cars old and new and my dad use to own a 260z when i was younger. i need some help and advise.

i have just found a datsun 240z with a 260z engine (straight six) in a scrap yard and i would love to make a project car out of it so i went in and asked him how much he wanted for it and he said he thinks he cant sell it because the councile re-possesed it and put it in the scrap yard to be CRUSHED....now in my eyes thats wrong, you cant just crush a car like that?

does anyone know any loop holes in the law or any way to save this fantastic car?

many thanks

Matt

Others can help you out here but in my opinion must folks who work in

those kinds of places are pretty cool to deal with, so if all else fails have

him set the car aside for you untill you can get possesion of it.

Even if you have to give him a little extra

coin for his trouble it might be worth it :bandit:.

~Z~

Hi Silvia

In the UK this is sadly (often) the case.

I visit scrap yards through my job , and visit one that undertakes such contracts on behalf of the DVLA and Local Authorities.

The cars are generally picked up because they are on the road for not having road tax, and therefore illegal. They are taken under either DVLA or local auth. powers to a suitably licenced disposal facility - i.e. scrapyard.

The scrapyard has to destroy them if they are not claimed within a certain period , and they dont technically own the vehicle. If the owner reclaims them within the set period they have to pay the scrap man a fee for looking after them!

The scrap man will probably have to demonstrate to the authorities that he has done his job by returning to them a certificate of destruction - once this is done he can claim his fee and the car cannot be re-registered (?)

I think thats about right.

http://www.cartakeback.com/en/abandoned-vehicles.asp