IGNORED

one carb not working?

cj71z

I got this wierd issue with my su's during warm up. With the choke on and the car started my front carb has excessive vacuum while the rear has none at all. Car runs like crap till it warms up then everything is fine. Both carbs are sync'd and pull the same amount of air when at operating temp. Anyone had this issue before? Thanks for the help.

I'm no expert with the SU's but it sounds like your choke mechanism sticks or one of your cables is not adjusted correctly. See if the cable will fully open AND close each choke. After you close the choke, try pushing up on the choke by hand to see if it closes further by hand. I doubt it is the closing since it is under choke that you have the problem.

You might look at these sites;

http://sw-em.com/su_carbs.htm

http://www.zparts.com/zptech/articles/mal_land/ml_sucarb2/images4/SUcarb_111601d.htm

Sure hope you find what you need!

Hi Chris,

It sounds to me like the throttle for the rear carb is closed. Are you measuring vacuum by placing a hand over the mouth of each carb?

The following is from the '72 engine service manual:

Starting Mechanism

By pulling the choke knob, the starting lever is moved, and the nozzle is drawn down by a link mechanism. As a result, the clearance between the nozzle and the jet needle is increased, and an increased amount of fuel required for starting is fed into the system. Moreover, the throttle valve is automatically set to proper opening for starting (approximately 6 degrees) by the connecting linkage.

The instruction sheet that came with a rebuild kit has this:

Cold Starting Device Adjustment

1. Throttle valve held completely closed

2. Choke lever held in the full choke position

3. Measure distance between throttle valve and bore of carburetor .025" (.63 mm)

4. To adjust bend connecting rod

The connecting rod is the one between the throttle valve lever and the choke lever.