IGNORED

Has anyone here used a gloss meter?

Roberts280Z

I became curious as to whether there was a way to objectively measure gloss, shine, etc.  I found some interesting terms, such as DOI (distinctiveness of image) and RIQ (reflected image quality), and nice instruments that can measure all of that for $4-5K.  I also see simple glossmeters on Amazon for $150-200.  I almost expected to find an Android app that used the front-facing camera to analyze the image reflected from a test-pattern display, but was disappointed.

Anyhow, has anybody used such tools?

I'm trying to paint my 280Z, and I have no paint experience.  I'm disappointed in the level of 'shine' that I'm getting after wet-sanding, buffing, polishing, as compared to the un-cut clear coat.  Shallow-angle reflections look OK, but head-on reflections (e.g. my face) - not so much.  I don't know if I can just keep on polishing, or will I just polish away all the clear coat with no further improvement.

This is my reflection in the upper part of the door - I tried to mask the glare of the light with my head - sort of gives me a halo!

image.png

This is a reflection off the fender top:

image.png

The reflection is not well-defined.

The paint job used acrylic basecoat 3-4 coats, and urethane clearcoat, again 3-4 coats.  The fender was painted 2-3 weeks ago, and the door earlier than that.  I wet-sanded from 1000 to 3000 grit.  I had to go fairly deep with the 1000 grit to get all the orange peel (I said I'm not experienced).  I then used Meguiar's Ultimate Compound and Meguiar's Ultimate Polish (and also some of the stuff in the picture), all with a rotary polisher.  I've tried isolated areas by hand as well.