IGNORED

Help With Head Rebuilding/Cam Choices

Hi All,

I've lurked for a while and read quite a bit here, but now I need some direct help.  I'm rebuilding my L26 currently and would like to put a more aggressive cam in while I'm there.  I'm new to this kind of engine building.  Been working on air cooled 2 stroke engines for while.  From what I gather, the standard way of doing things is to come up with your power goal first and then decide what parts to get.  In an effort to learn more about how all these areas affect each other, I've started looking at cams first (maybe not the best idea, I know).  I want my 260z to be generally in the area of a resto-mod.  I have round top SU's I'll be using.  Looking for some power gains, but not getting crazy with it.  This will be a street car and I want to maintain reasonable drivability. 

A guy locally has a Schneider Racing cam for sale (new) at a great price.  I've seen conflicting things online as far as what else would be required to support that cam.  People have reported those cams wearing faster and stock valve springs used.  That kinda seems like a recipe for failure though.  

Cam Specs:

Grind: 270-80F

Intake Duration: 270

Exhaust Duration: 280

Valve Lift: .460

So I have some questions regarding this type of setup.  Would this roughly be considered a Stage 3 cam?  Would I need to upgrade the valve springs?  Would I need to increase the compression to get the engine to run properly?  Thanks in advance.  These are likely stupid questions, but I tend to learn a little better this way.

Edited by The Red Scourge
Updated Cam Grind

Whoa! I messed up. It is a stage 3 on MSA's page. Sorry about that.

Welcome to the party.

MSA uses Schneider's cam kits and they're stage I is closer to the grind you are talking about. 

https://www.thezstore.com/page/TZS/CTGY/classic12e03

here's Schneider's page and it looks like their grind #270-80F

http://schneidercams.com/dastsunL6_NA.aspx