IGNORED

How to Paint a 240z Just Like Done Originally

inline6

I am soon going to get the 240z I have been working on for a couple of years painted.  It was originally 901 silver.  My plan is to have the painter paint it like the factory did it.  And so, I'd like to confirm how the factory did it, if possible. 

Why?

While doing the body work for the last many months, I have concluded that the fasteners that secure some of the body panels in place change the final shape of the panel.  A good example of this is the front fender.  There are two bolts that secure the bottom of the fender panel to the unibody.  Tightening those bolts down causes a slight distortion in the panel.  If you get the bottom of the fender perfect while off of the car, and then bolt it to the car, you will have more body work to do to get the bottom of the fender perfect again.  Additionally, I have found that aligning body panels is a task that takes several attempts before I achieve success.  I don't want to risk chipping paint while handling freshly painted doors, fenders, etc., and attempting to align, tighten bolts with wrenches, etc.  Therefore, my preference is to achieve correct alignment and fit while the car is in primer instead. 

So, I have these observations based on close examination of my car (production 6/1971) to share:

It appears to me that everything on the car originally painted in 901 silver at the Nissan factory was securely fastened in place when the paint was applied with two exceptions: the rear hatch and the front cowl panel.

I deduce this primarily from the following: 

Hatch panel: