IGNORED

Help me somebody...spark knock 123Ignition dizzy. I’m

ZBuzzard

I have a ‘72 240Z w/2.8L engine with a high compression head(10.5:1), triple Weber’s(40 side drafts), and a 123Ignition dizzy.  I’m pretty sure I have the carbs dialed in, it gets a bit lean.  between. 2500-3000, so I think I’m going to go up one size in the mains, but that’s the least of my problems.  I get spark knock at low RPM’s under load.  I have tried a dozen or so different ignition curves and no matter how low my total advance is, spark knock.  I’m a newb when it comes this programmable dizzy.  In addition to the ignition curve, I can edit the MAP curve as well.  Trying to figure out how to get this thing to retard the timing when I put my foot in it at low rpm’s.  Is that possible by using a specific MAP curve, or is that unrelated.  Replaced 1 head gasket already, pistons checked out ok,  but don t want to risk damaging them.  Any advice would be appreciated.  Oh yeah, anyone have a few good ignition curves for a 2.8L engine(N47 block, E88 head, Schneider 275 cam, triple Weber’s).  Cheers!

What is air/fuel at cruise on flat highway at 50rpm?

What is air fuel ratio at idle?

What is fuel level?

You may be just running lean.

The trick is to get the fuel levels right then find the right idle jet to give a cruise between 14 and 16 (depending on fuel efficiency you want). Then you set the idle (13 to 15 depending on how stinky you want it.... idle is smoother at 13 but it is rich). Repeat the cruise test as the idle adjustment can make ~ 0.5 a/f difference at cruise.

Typical fuel level range is 27mm down to 29mm down.

What size chokes/Venturis do you have? 32-33mm are nice for 2.8l 40DCOE on the street.

image.png

Edited by 240260280