IGNORED

Brake booster & missing brake fluid

Kurbycar32

I searched and found some stuff but don't have a clear answer so here's the situation:

Brakes didn't work when I bought the car due to sitting for years. Replaced master cylinder with unit from rockauto flushed and refilled, worked perfectly for months

Car went to interior shop and sat for a month, brakes stopped working. Front reservoir was empty but it didn't appear to be leaking. I'm not a pro so I didn't know what happened, refilled, bled and ran for another month

Today I'm driving around and hit the brakes. Break pedal is super hard but the car doesn't stop well, hissing sound, motor dies. Obviously the brake booster failed, no apparent external vacuum leaks

So the questions:

Did my master cylinder have shavings in it and kill my booster? Did the fluid end up in the brake booster? Should I replace them both? I also have a 1" MC that i bought at a junk yard, should I rebuild and use that with a new booster?

I've had a clutch slave cylinder go bad within months of installing. I took the replacement apart before installing and found manufacturing grit inside, which I removed with a brake fluid rinse. So some aftermarket parts don't have the greatest QC on the cleaning side. Could explain the master cylinder going bad. It shouldn't leak, and there's no where for the fluid to go except backwards toward the booster. It could also leak down the face of the booster at the mounting surface.

I also had a booster go bad after already having replaced the brake master cylinder. It was full of old brake fluid (that dripped on my paint when I was removing it), from the bad master that I had replaced. The car had sat for a few years. The fluid isn't kind to any plastic type materials and probably helped the booster disc fail.