IGNORED

S130 tank in an S30?

Well, it's finally time to start working on my '76 280Z. It's been sitting for 10 years, and I've recently confirmed that there was at least a gallon or two of fuel in it at the time that it was parked. The tank is the first thing that I'm going to go after, but I have a question about it.

I have an '81 280ZX that I use for parts on my '83. Would that tank fit the '76? If so, it seems like it would be easier to pull that tank, clean it out, and then just do a clean swap.

What do you guys think? This is my first try at an S30, and I'm super excited to get it running!

Thanks!

I just finished a fuel tank restoration on my 240, using POR-15's excellent fuel tank reseal kit. My car had been sitting for 8 years and there were about two gallons of varnish-y, syrupy gas in there when I drained it. Clean as a whistle now inside and all sealed up. Not a difficult task. Hardest part was reinstalling the tank.

Confused by this:

If so, it seems like it would be easier to pull that tank, clean it out, and then just do a clean swap.

If you're going to clean and reseal a tank anyway, why not just pull the 280's?

Well the '81 is in my woodshop; a pretty good place to do a project like that. The '76 is at my wife's uncle's house burried under boxes. So I figured if I could do that, I'd only have to transport a tank once. It's not a huge deal, just inconvenient.

In retrospect, I suppose I didn't buy a 35 year old japanese car that's been parked for 10 years for the convenience of it all :-P

:) True, our cars are neither convenient nor, contrary to what many would call them, investments—except for a select few, that is.

Do what you gotta do, I suppose. Personally, I'd drive the 5 miles, drop the 280's tank and bring it back home to work on it, then return and reinstall it. And as Steve pointed out, this is almost certainly your only option anyway, given compatibility issues.

Yeah, I think that's what I'll have to do. Oh well.