IGNORED

82 280zx has no power

p_trice

I have a 1982 datsun 280zx non turbo. It runs decent and idles great. I has decent power when i cruise around in town, but when i get outside of town and try to go fast, it seems like it has no power. It kind of sputters a bit, like it's running out of gas or something. I can put throttle to the floor and it just sputters. I put more gas in it but it still sputters a bit. Do I maybe need new fuel filter or pump. I also have a red warning light that turns on on my gauge cluster. It is supposed to be green and say OK. I have seen it turn green and say OK before but now it won't do it anymore. What does this red light mean? Also how do u tell if the injector wires are going to the right injectors? I think the person before me got them wrong. I am a decent mechanic but, I am new to working on older datsuns so please make reply easy to understand for a datsun newb. some help getting this car straightened out would be greatly appreciated. thanks

ok... here are a few thoughts for you to investigate...

Have you checked out the inside of the gas tank? At the end of the fuel sending unit is a fine mesh screen. Depending on the interior of the tank, you may have rust/sludge/crud being sucked into the mesh thus reducing gas flow. It may not be enough to cause a bother at in town speeds, but when you up the RPM and draw more gas...you get the idea.

The same idea can be applied to the fuel filter in the engine bay, as well as the fine cone filter in the fuel pump...

Another problem might be your fuel pressure regulator (located on the fuel rail). If it's failing, the pump won't be able to maintain adequate pressure to feed the car, and might cause stumbling...

The injector connectors have no particular order. So long as they are firmly connected, they're good to go. Spark plug wires are obviously a different matter.