IGNORED

Playing with a wideband

steve91tt

I'm a scientist by training so I can't resist the chance to gather data and over analyze things when I get the chance.:)

To that end, I picked up a wideband O2 meter...

Wide band

It's not my intention to leave the wideband installed permanently but rather just hook it up for tuning or trouble shooting. I installed the sensor in a bung in one of the down tubes in my header. The bung had always been there, just nothing but a bolt in it till now. I left the bulk of the wiring zip tied under the hood and only ran the necessary wires for the gauge which I zip tied to the steering column for easy viewing.

The installation went quickly and smoothly. After calibration I started the car up and and went for a test drive. I was surprised to see that the car was running very rich. So I stopped, leaned the carbs out a click or two, drove, adjusted, drove, etc. In the end, I adjusted both carbs leaner by 1 full turn. After doing so I think I'm still a little rich in spots.

Here are a few observations after leaning out the carbs by 1 turn...

1. Idle: AFR 10.5-12 depending on how hot the engine is. Generally close to 11ish.

2. 40 MPH steady speed, 3rd gear. AFR = 11-12.

3. 75 MPH steady speed, 4th gear. AFR = 14ish

4. WOT 2nd gear to redline AFR 12-13

5. moderate acceleration from 40 MPH in 3rd. AFR = 15-17

1-4 look rich to me but 5 looks very lean. Anyone have experience with these sort of tests?

I have an Innovate wide band sensor.

Your idle is rich. It gets richer the hotter the engine is right? Mine is 12.5ish HOT!

2 is still too rich, get 13.8-14.8

3 is ok

4 is ok too, mine is closer to 13 than 12 say 12.7-13

5 call in vacuum advance, extended timing tends to show a leaner mixture....so long as you have no surging, your mixtures will be fine.

Now the test is to get everything to where you need it. LOL That's where the hours come into it. Ask me!

What's your induction setup? Webers, Su's?