IGNORED

Help - Dropped parts into the front of my engine

Cxracer

I had a bad Sunday afternoon. I would have made a lot more progress on getting my car up an running if I never went into the garage. I now have half a drill bit and a magnet somewhere in the front of the engine.

I've been installing a L28 engine into my 72 240 for about 2 years now. Yes, it has been a slow project, just ask my wife whose car this will ultimatly be.

Anyway, yesterday as I was prepping the inlet and outlet housings to change from 280 to 240 peices I broke a bolt off on the front of the head that was holding a coolant tube that was going from the thermostat housing to the outlet tube. It was one of the three 6mm bolts that hold the timing chain inspection port cover in place on the head. I tried drilling and extracting but even after soaking it in liquid wrench for an hour it was still so stuck that my extractor's tip broke off. I tried drilling out with a larger bit and eventually decided I'd have to tap it. Unfortunatly I didn't have much room to fit the drill in front of the radiator frame cross member (obviously I pulled the radiator and fan) and I guess the side load of the bit made it snap and it shot through the head and into the cavity where the timing chain runs.:stupid:

I got the plate off and tried to lower a magnet down into the cavity in hopes of pickign up the drill bit but succeeded in having the magnet catch hold of something and pull it's self loose of the extender it was on.:cry:

My question is:

Is it possible to pull the oil pan from the bottom of the engine while it is still in the car? My only hope is that if I can get the oil pan off I might be able to fish the parts out from the bottom.

Otherwise, I'm going to have to get a new engine and start all over.