IGNORED

A Z-man Again

The year was 1981. I was a freshman in college and my roommate purchased a semi-ratty 1973 240Z. It was a nice car but I never gave the car much thought. Until his father restored it during the summer between semesters. What he got back changed my view of the 240Z forever.

I was in love with his 240Z and I had to have one. At the time nice examples were selling for $2,000 to $3,000 – way beyond what I could afford.

A year went by and I wanted a 240Z more then ever. During the summer of ‘83 I got a call from my roommate. He told me that there was a 240Z for sale in his town that he “knew” had to be sold because the owner lost his license and his mother wanted the car gone. I drove down to his house and we went (uninvited) to look at the car. The car was rough. It was missing quite a few body parts from the front end. I noted they were stuffed in the back. Someone attempted to paint this car like a racing Z, it was red below the belt-line and blue above. But the colors were all wrong because it was really maroon and sky-blue. On the positive side the interior was perfect and it had a custom cabinet in the back that held speakers, reading lights, eq/power boost and a CB radio. It sounds hokey, but it was a cool cabinet.

Without knowing if the car even started I approached the front door of the house and knocked on the door. “How much for the Z?” The kid/owner stepped outside and whispered “it’s not for sale”. From upstairs his mother screamed “it is for sale, sell it!”

I drove away with a ’71 240Z and a car-load of parts – all for $1,100. That evening each of those parts found their way back onto the car. In just a few weeks I had it running perfectly and looking good. I loved that car (but not the paint job). The front end wasn’t quite right, but all of it’s problems were concealed behind a front-end bra.