IGNORED

new here,,getting a 240z need help with vin

Hi my name is Terry and I am coming into possession of a 73 240z and the vin is S30101781 and it is a right hand drive and in a 100 pieces as the person tore it down and started restro but lost interest and it has no motor or tranny but all other parts appear to be there but I am unsure,could be some items missing,,he cut out floor pans but never installed new,,anybody know what car might be worth? and how to decode vin,,tks for any help,,

Someone can correct me if I am wrong... but if the VIN is begins with HS30 it should be a Japanese Domestic Market Fairylady Z, not a 240Z. A 240Z would begin with HLS30 ("L" for left-hand drive). I dont' think it would be worth much, since it is only the body.

For more information on reading VIN numbers visit:

http://www.zhome.com

I am new to the z so I am unsure, but it is an original right hand and the title says it is a 240z and I was told it is a fair lady and one of 60,,but thats all the info I have right now
Well if it's really right hand drive then it could've been retitled, or renamed rather, as a 240Z once it got here into the States. And as far as this part goes, maybe 1 out of 60 in the states and maybe 1 of 60 for that year of 1973. You gotta remember there were quite a few military guys bringing these back in the early 70's. Also you should know it originally came with the S20 motor and NOT the L series inline six engines (L24, L26 or L28 ) offered for us. So you'll need to find another Fairlady parts car or S20 motor for sale to put it back to stock JDM spec, other wise it's just another right hand drive 240Z. Edited by WingZr0